Quick Note:S02E04 – That’s it, I’m out. #ShadowsCharmedCreek #Shadowhunters

######SPOILERS######

There’s a shouty, cursy rant on the way tomorrow, but I just wanted to get down this feeling before it fades, and reason takes over. WARNING: ADULT LANGUAGE AND QUESTIONING OF PRODUCERS’ TIES TO REALITY FOLLOW

WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK WAS THAT SHIT? What a pile of manipulative, contrived twangst-inducing nonsense! Who the fuck thought any of those CW-worthwhile “twists” were a good idea? And you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to read what I think of the absolute GUT JOB they did on my beloved Magnus and his canonical story with Camille. BECAUSE I THINK A LOT. AND NONE OF IT IS GOOD — outside Harry and Kait’s (and really, the entire cast) performances, because, as usual, they were sterling. It’s them that drew me into this show in the first place. NONE of this is in ANY way meant to be aimed at, or at all critical of, the cast. They’re the best around, and I love them all. It makes me twice as upset for them and all their hard work that this craptastic “creative” team is trashing.

I am just… ARGH…out of my mind angry (in a fannish way) over what the fuck they’re DOING to my favorite show, and worse, my favorite character.

Really. And fucking Jocelyn. Who is going to buy Alec trotting off for a date after he fucking plunged his hand into Clary’s mother’s chest and ripped out her heart? I don’t care how possessed he was, he is not just getting over that. And if he does, Alec’s not who I thought he was either.

Whatever. Maybe it’ll all play better when the season’s over, and I can see the whole story at once. It is WAY too uneven and just…ARGH! Week-to-week. And not in a good way. I rode a fan train like this once before, and that did not end well. I’d rather get off now, face some disappointment, and maybe retain some love for Magnus and the others as I understand them. Otherwise it could end up leaving a bad taste in my mouth, and a couple thousand dollars in DVDs, books, comics, etc that I NEVER watch or read or enjoy because the memories of the experience have become SO bitter. I haven’t written a word of fanfic about them in years (except for my Shadowhunters crossover — ironic?) because they’re just not in my head anymore the way they once were. I’m talking Buffy and ESPECIALLY Angel, here.

YOU WILL NEVER FUCKING CONVINCE ME THAT IF MAGNUS FUCKING BANE WAS GOING TO OFF HIMSELF, HE WOULD JUMP OFF A FUCKING BRIDGE, AND INSTEAD WAS SAVED BY NOT-AT-ALL-EVIL-APPARENTLY CAMILLE GODDAMN BELCOURT BECAUSE FUCKING WHY EXACTLY? OUT OF THE ABSENT GOODNESS OF HER SHRIVELED LITTLE NARCISSISTIC, GREEDY, BLOODTHIRSTY HEART? I have no idea, because in NO REALITY DOES THAT MAKE ANY KIND OF SENSE. As I said on Twitter, I call bullshit.

Did these people even bother to read the books just for the SPIRIT of the characters and their stories? Clearly not. And any of you who know me know I’m about as far from a book stan as you can fucking get (except THE BANE CHRONICLES, which I am fiercely dedicated to.) But this shit — they’re just randomly flinging shit around like monkeys at this point, and fuck even giving canon the finger as they go whizzing by. They can’t even be bothered to honor anything set down in the first season. Purposeful, or did they forget to hire a continuity editor? If the latter, they better get on that, STAT, because geeks won’t put up with that kind of shit after a couple of seasons.

Okay, I have to stop now, I’m getting upset about a fucking TV show. I know better than anyone that it’s ultimately just not worth it. I’ll see if I can express myself more clearly tomorrow. After a fairly nice recovery last week, I am shocked STUPID by the mind-numbingly BAD implications set up by the events of this week.

Whoever got rid of Decter should be set on fire. (Not literally.)

Leave a Reply

